Pioneers of UMCSAWM

The UMCSAWM project has made significant strides in its journey towards Education for Sustainable Development of Water Resources. It all began in 2003 when the postgraduate degree program was presented to the South Asia Foundation (Sri Lanka Chapter). After extensive evaluations and justifications, the project received approval and was officially commissioned in 2010 through a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed between the University of Moratuwa and the South Asia Foundation (SAF).

The proposal, presented to the late Honourable Lakshman Kadirgamar, Sri Lanka’s Foreign Minister and the chair of SAF Sri Lanka, resonated strongly with the value of regional cooperation. This was made possible through the dedicated efforts of the former director, Prof. Sohan Wijesekera, under the guidance of the then Vice-Chancellor, Professor Dayantha Wijayasekera, and Dean, Professor Malik Ranasinghe.

The endorsement of SAF Sri Lanka and the University of Moratuwa not only led to the acceptance of the proposal but also to funding support. The South Asia Foundation generously provided finances for seven intakes (and continuing), and the late Shri Madanjeet Singh, the Chair of the South Asia Foundation at that time, personally contributed substantial funding for the establishment of the UMCSAWM center.

The UMCSAWM remains profoundly grateful to these visionary leaders, the late Honourable Lakshman Kadirgamar and the late Shri Madanjeet Singh, for recognizing the significance of sustainable water resources management education as a crucial link to achieving regional cooperation. Their unwavering support and belief have paved the way for our impactful endeavors.

Pioneering Leaders

Late Shri Madanjeet Singh

SAF Founder and UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador

Late Hon. Lakshman Kadirgamar

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Sri Lanka

HE Madam C. B. Kumaratunga

Former SAF-SL Chairperson and Former President of Sri Lanka

Madam France Marquet

Principal Trustee of Madanjeet Singh Foundation & South Asia Foundation's UNESCO Representative

UoM Administrative Leaders

Late Prof. D. S. Wijeyesekera

Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa (1999-2005)

Prof. Malik Ranasinghe

Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa (2005-2011)

Prof. Ananda Jayawardane

Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa (2011-2017)

Prof. K.K.C. Kapila Perera

Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa (2017-2020)


Snr. Prof. N. D. Gunawardena

Vice Chancellor, University of Moratuwa

Prof. N.T.S Wijesekera

Emeritus Professor and former Centre Chairman of UMCSAWM (2013-2018)